So I've been going to the beach a lot lately because of this break, and I have once again learned the value of sunblock. Last night I was radiating but today I at least feel a little bit cooler although I still look like a lobster. I must say, I know I'm in Europe when I see the back of someone with a bikini bottom and no top, and wonder if it's a boy or a girl. Oh I don't know whether to look and say "oh, it might be one of my Spanish guy friends" or not look because it's a topless lady. Speedos for the guys and bikinis for the girls, oh yes. To conform to Spanish lifestyle I went and bought a bikini top today. Instead of 30 euros at the Corte Ingles....5 euros at the Chinese store! Woot woot.
Last weekend I had a little adventure. I finished up the clown class, which by the way, was not as funny as the weekend before. It was actually a little painful.
Saturday the only thing of interest was that we were assigned an animal to act like, and then sang a well-known song as that animal. Not very funny at all. However, our warm-up exercise was very odd: full-body massages. If you know me, you would know that I was very uncomfortable with that. My American friend said he had to massage the married lady's while her husband was watching--haha. One of my classmates came in just as we finished, so the teacher had him lay on the floor and the entire class of 15 people gathered around him and massaged him! Hand, arms, head, neck, back, butt, legs, feet. It was ridiculous and it seemed like it would never end.But that wasn't the adventure I was referring to. I was referring to when, on Saturday night, I didn't feel tired, so I just didn't go to bed. Well, I guess it wasn't an adventure per say...all I did was occupy myself until 8am, then came home, washed up, and went to class. I went to bed at 6pm and woke up at 9am the next day.
On Wednesday we took a short trip to Valencia. It's only about 90 minutes away so we only spent about 5 hours in all there. I spoke to Pascual the bus driver again and he pointed out some of the Valencian monuments as we drove by. Unfortunately, my professor from the first couple weeks of school, Emilio, embarrassed me by pretending I was in love with the bus driver. Ugh, how awkward.
Anyway, I went with some girls to the Cathedral that holds the holy grail and a saint's preserved severed arm, but we didn't have time to see them. Instead, we climbed the tower that overlooked the city.
At 2pm we walked a couple blocks to the Town Square where they were setting off fireworks to celebrate the festival Fallas. I have it on video, but pretty much it's just a series of popping noises and smoke. Not very exciting, but very famous. It
was packed with people for blocks all around. We went to the Lonja, which is apparently a masterpiece of architecture, but it didn't look like we could go in. I joined a different group of girls and we relaxed in the sun until it was time to go. On the way to the bus, we saw the lining up of a parade--men & women & children in traditional Spanish garb lined the streets. They were sooo cute! While I was in Valencia I made sure to try Horchata (valencian drink made from tigernuts), some Valencian oranges (actually haven't tried them, but I have them with me), and Valencian Paella (not sure how it's different from regular, but it was good).On a different note, watching the Spanish news is quite boring. I'm pretty sure the only things they talk about are: Marta del Castillo, the repression, Bolonia, and the pope. First of all, Marta del Castillo is a girl who disappeared on January 24th and ever since then the media has been going crazy over her case, as if she's the only victim of murder. The latest news is that her ex-boyfriend killed her and threw her body in a dumpster, so now the police are digging through the public dump. The public held this whole campaign to find her, even wearing shirts and pins that say "Everyone is a Marta" What the heck does that mean? We are all decomposing in a land-fill? How inspiring, thank you, geniuses. Anyway, this public outcry begs the question: if people hadn't made such a big deal over getting justice, would the police go to this same extent to find her killers and body?
The other thing is politics and the repression, although Paco my host padre loves politics so it may be just the programs he watches that bore me to tears. I see Obama on the news about as much as I see the Spanish politicians, but since I don't understand, nor do I care about what's happening, I don't pay too much attention.
The protesting of Bolonia has gone on at the University since I got here but just now it's starting to make the news. Bolonia apparently is the movement of the European Union or Spanish government or something to raise the cost of the public universities and make it more similar to U.S. colleges, at the same time making the degrees certified in all European countries. Yeah, it stinks having to pay more and good for you for protesting the government...but apparently the issue was decided almost 10 years ago, so all this protesting is doing nothing. I wonder if it has made it to United States news since there are so many riots in Spain and elsewhere.
And the Pope. Wow, does he get his share of fame. After the normal news, Paco turns on the parody news called Intermedio--kind of a Daily News with Jon Stewart thing. But Intermedio makes fun of everything the Pope does. Apparently the Catholic leaders have launched a pro-life campaign that points out that a Lynx (the cat thing) is more protected than a human life...which, by the way, is a very valid argument. But Intermedio loves to make fun of it. Unfortunately, they talk too fast for me to understand everything, but then again, I don't think I want to understand. Also, recently the Pope visited Africa and declared that the effort to promote the use of condoms in order to prevent the spreading of AIDS is not solving the problem, in fact it's condemning it further (which, I have to admit, is a little outrageous). Well, you can imagine the kind of fun Intermedio has had with blowing that issue out of proportion. Sometimes Intermedio is interesting, but with these news pieces that have come up, it's now annoying and clearly in opposition to the Pope and what he stands for.
Ok, enough about news! I would like to touch on the subject of life in America. I find that here in Europe, I'm often ashamed of my origin. Not only do I know very little about European geography, history, and current world news, but I'm also disappointed in my bilingual skills when I know so many people who are fluent in at least 3 languages. I mean, I guess in America we kind of have an excuse. The country is so incredibly large compared to others that it isn't too odd to only focus on ourselves, and plus English is spoken by pretty much the entire population as well as the country to the north, so our monolingual lifestyle makes sense. But when I meet Germans, and French, and Italians, and Norwegians, and Nigerians...it gives me a sense of culture and makes me feel as if the United States ISN'T the best thing since sliced bread. And having each border of the country being 10 hours away, at most, makes the community seem a little closer. California is soooo far away from NC, but Alicante isn't far at all from Andalucia!
Whew, oy, what else did I want to say? My host madre asked me today why I always went out alone. I responded that I go to the beach knowing that somebody I know will be there. She says that normally her students call up their friends and meet them, and then asks me why I don't hang out with the Americans. I tell her that for the most part they already found someone who they can relate to, she says "Well, join their group." And I just shrugged and smiled. Look, lady, first of all, it's not that easy to just "join" a group. They have to want you to join. Second of all, I've been wondering about this since I got here, you don't have to remind me! And what if I want to go shopping alone? I'm pretty sure for the most part my friends don't do anything in the afternoons besides chill at home and go to the beach...just like I do. Anyway, the end.
Umm what else?? March 20th, next weekend I go to Paris but I heard on the news something about a strike in France and they're canceling some flights...
Alright, I'll leave you with that. Hopefully next week I can tell you about sightseeing in Pareeee
"Lo que Espana vota, va a misa!!"
No comments:
Post a Comment